It is generally agreed that society benefits from the work of its members. Compare the contributions of artists to society with the contributions of scientists to society. Which type of contribution do you think is valued more by your society?

Upon the above question, different people have different opinions based on their emotions, educations, cultures, etc. From my point of view, both artists and scientists are important influences on people and they play significant roles in society. However, I think contributions of scholars is valued more by my country. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, scientists and researchers spend most of their time in laboratories or companies to invent new things. For example, they discover better drugs for people and help them recover from ailments in a more convenient way. Undoubtedly, people will not survive without the help of scientists. Some researchers investigate new ways to make better foods for people. They manipulate the genome of plants like wheat and rice in order to create new features. According to the latest researchers which were published in well-known journals half of our diet consists of genetically modified foods.

In the second place, scientists invent new things to help people do their ordinary tasks easily. For example, Japanese scholars produce new robots that can take care of children, wash dirty dishes and so forth. In addition, people can communicate with their friends and relatives easily by their cell phone and no one can deny its importance in our daily lives.

Finally, it is important to bear in mind that societies also benefit from the work of artists. Painters create masterpieces and musicians hold great concerts where people can feel happy and relaxed. In my opinion, art is the symbol of culture and people will get more information about one country, if they study its art.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that although both scientists and artists play significant role in my country, the work of scholars is valued more in my country based on the reasons which I outlined above.