Many students choose to attend schools or universities outside their home countries. Why do some students study abroad? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

Usually young people want to enjoy their life, having new challenges and experiences, and one effective way of getting all these things is, in my opinion going to study abroad. Going abroad they will have different life experience, more prestigious universities and sometimes they will learn a different language.

Firstly, usually young people are eager to have new experiences. However, this necessity can be expressed in several ways, but certainly one of them is going to study abroad. Moreover, changing your home country assures people a big change not only from an academic point of view, but from a personal view as well. For example, I remember that when I graduated from university in Chile, I was looking for a new experience, so I went to Spain to study a master degree, and It was exactly the change that I was looking for.

Secondly, searching for prestigious universities. It is not a secret that top tier universities are located in a reduced number of countries, therefore, if young students want to be at the top of knowledge, then they should be willing for going abroad. Hence, in my opinion the academic performance of the universities represent another reason for going overseas. For instance, taking my example, I choose the university based on academic reason, because University of Zaragoza was ranked 6th in the world for Renewable energy studies.

Thirdly, a new language could represent an additional challenge for students. In addition, this is a very powerful reason for studying in a different country. In these days where the globalization rewards those who can speak different languages, it is not strange that a bulk of student are looking for countries that offers this possibility. For example, recently I had the chance of studying abroad within my MBA program, and I choose an English speaking country, in order to improve my English skills.

To conclude, young people want to live new adventures in their lives, not only from an academic point of view, but from a personal view as well. Moreover, they are searching for academic excellence and the opportunity of learning a new language. One alternative that provide a mix of all the reason mentioned above is going to study abroad.