Many teachers assign homework to students every day. Do you think that daily homework is necessary for students? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer

How we learn and how can we improve that process have been a major concern for teachers in the last decade. Despite of the advances in this area they have not reached a consensus, for example, it is not clear if assigning daily homework it is good for students.

In my opinion, daily homework are not necessary for student, moreover, I think that too many homework could even harm students.

Firstly, complexity of learning process. I have been reading this topic for several weeks, and I am convince that there is no clear correlation between the number of homework assigned to students and their academic performance. However, we must considering that there is not a simply recipe for learning at school, it is a complex process which involves more than homework and class attendance, but also personal and psychological factors. Therefore, trying to improve the learning process we should consider more than a mere homework.

Secondly, leisure time is as important as other activities. It is not a secret that young people like to have some leisure time, and even though traditional learning processes have seen this spare time as a harmful practice, new researches have shown that kids needs to have leisure time because improves their imagination and helps them with socialization processes. For example, my kids in their free time usually plays different games, which are normally invented by themselves.

Thirdly, it is not only about kids, parents should be considered because homework takes time of kids and parents as well. I am pretty sure that if parent are asked about these topic, the vast majority will agree with the importance of sharing time with our kids talking, playing or simply reading a book together. Moreover, there are many homes in which both parents have jobs, and when they return home wanting to be with their kids, having to do homework it is not an appeal task, neither for parents nor for the kids.

To conclude, there are some reasons to consider that homework could help to improve the academic result of our kids, however, in the last decades teachers and parents have realized that the learning process is more complex than just repeating an action every day, moreover, now people are aware of the importance of practicing leisure and spending time with our families. For all the reason mentioned above, I think that daily homework it is not a good idea.