Nowadays, food has become easier to prepare. Has this change improved the way people live? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of new technologies, food has become easier to prepare than ever before. In my opinion, it brings both positive and negative influences on people’s lives.

In the first place, food that is easier to prepare has an obvious advantage for new generations, who are leading their lives in a more rapid pace. Fast-food restaurants such as McDonald’s exactly cater to our needs for a faster life. When I feel really hungry, traditional cooking is just too slowly. However, fast food can instantly improve my situation. As we save a large quantity of time previously used to prepare food, we can spend our time performing more important tasks, and therefore focus better on our work.

However, easier-to-prepare food also brings about some disadvantages to our lives.

Firstly, as we save more time focusing on work instead of food, we tend to feel more and more stressed out due to the busy cycle. Our already-too-fast life pace gets even speedier, which can bring about negative psychological problems in workers. On the contrary, traditional cooking style enables us to see the relaxing side of life, to stop and smell the roses. Also, cooking itself is sometimes a relaxing process to relieve pressure from workplaces. My mother loves to cook when she’s very tired after work, from which she can retrace the relaxation she needs.

Secondly, as food becomes easier to prepare, we gradually lose the right to enjoy top-class cooking. Because it does not cater to people’s needs for speed as well as fast foods does, and thus gradually decreases on the market. Many young people nowadays craze for Pizza Hut, but they have no idea how traditional home-made pizzas taste differently and wonderfully.

Another drawback of easy-to-prepare food is that in order to prepare food more easily, manufacturers add certain chemicals to the food which are not completely healthy for us. For instance, McDonald’s contains too much calories and too little vegetation, which will cause unbalance in people’s nutrition.

To sum up, food has become easier to prepare during the past decade or so. The change has brought both positive and negative influences on people’s lives.