One quality that a successful leader must have is to make decisions quickly. When a leader takes too much time to make decisions, he will be seen as ineffective to the people he leads. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

“Patience is a virtue” is a frequently used saying. In many cultures and society, patience is considered an important principle of good manners and social customs. However, there are many circumstances where immediate action is required and patience can be a detriment.

Another expression about patience goes, “Good things come to those who wait.” The philosophy behind this is that if you are patient and wait to assess the situation before you act, you will be rewarded. There are many instances where this principle does not apply. Take people who invest in business for example. When Facebook was first started, it was seen as an underdog compared to the other internet networking giants like Yahoo, Bing. When the company started up, many people did not invest because they wanted to wait and see how the company got along. There were a few people that did not wait, and now they are worth billions of dollars. Sometimes while waiting for the opportune moment, people may let the biggest opportunities slip through fingers! In the case of venture capital, good things come to those who act.

Politics and international relations is another area that most people say require patience. However,there are several instances in history that prove a patient country leader sometimes regrets waiting. During the 1930s, for example, Hitler became increasingly aggressive towards Germany’s neighboring countries. All of European authorities, especially the Britain, even the League of Nations were reluctant to act, thinking that if they waited and appeased Hitler, the policy of appeasement, then Hitler would eventually stop. In retrospect, everybody agrees that rather than patiently appeasing Hitler, countries should have acted. World War II would have been very different if countries had taken immediate action.

Finally, a hesitate leader pulls down the whole team’s execution. Execution is a pivotal feature of a successful team. With no doubt, people should think before you do; however, if you think too much, you are just a dreamer not a doer. Take my own experience as an example. Last summer, I took part in a High School Students Business Model Competition; in this competition, candidates would be grouped into a 7 people company to work against each other. Unfortunately, the CEO of my company is a thinking-too much guy: he could not decide quickly at the begin of the game whether should we corporate with another company or just wait to until the condition is clear. Other members of the company, me included, had nothing to do! We just waited till the boss had made up his mind! Gradually, the moral of the company went down not to mention the execution.

All in all, resolution is rather essential for a successful leader for the above reasons and examples.