The opinions of celebrities such as famous entertainers and athletes are more important to younger people than they are to older people

Celebrities nowadays are more often seen due to the advanced technology like Internet or social media, and some of the words they say might be magnified or even go viral online. As a millennial myself, I am definitely of the opinion that celebrities or someone famous have quite critical impacts on young people nowadays. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, social media apps is shaping the lives of people today, especially young people who are inseparable with their smartphones. The photo sharing based application Instagram can be an obvious example. Celebrities and someone who is famous is absolutely of no doubt having a lot of followers, thus they are capable of spreading their opinions elsewhere. In a couple years ago, an actor posted a video of him being poured by a bucket of iced water, it turned out to be a challenge of fund raising activity aimed to help people who have had suffered cancer. Instagram enables people to tag their friends below other people's post so it is way more easier for those posts to go viral on instagram through sharing among friends. People who are influential on instagram thus have a huge impact on their massive amount of followers.

Secondly, the image or public perception of celebrities mostly are positive toward their fans, and according to a psychological theory, their fans will strive to be closer to them either mentally or physically, in this way, they move closer to a better person by acquiring these characteristics owned by the ideal projection of celebrities have on them. This phenomena can be seen when someone famous said something improper yet most of his or hers fans still show a determined and supportive attitude toward them, because they are not willing to see the perfect projections they have built on those celebrities to be ruined deep in their hearts.

To sum up, the popularity of social media apps on smartphone and some mental characteristics of people are the main causes that people nowadays are more likely to be influenced by the opinions of people who are famous.