People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work?

Although earning money is vital to maintain a decent standard of living, it is not the sole reason why people go to work every day. From my perspective, there are two additional reasons for holding jobs. First, working makes us feel that our life is meaningful. Secondly, being employed gives us the chance to interact with people outside our normal social circle.

To begin with, having jobs offers us a sense of purpose in life. Striving to fulfill the objectives of our job, we feel that our life is purposeful. Also, being employed makes us self-confident and helps us to set long-term goals about what we want to accomplish. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I used to be unemployed for three months, which made me feel depressed and worthless. But after I found a job as a marketer, my life changed totally. To be specific, since then I struggle every day to reach the profit objectives of the company and increase my sales record. Achieving these goals, gives me a sense of self-satisfaction.

Furthermore, jobs provide us with the opportunity to meet new people on a regular basis and socialize. On the contrary, people who are unemployed interact mostly with their family and pre-existed friends, which can sometimes be boring. For instance, when I was in high school, I worked in a local bookstore. Despite earning little money, I was satisfied with my job because I could chat with people from different backgrounds and learn about their lives. If I had not worked there, I would not have had a chance to improve my social skills before entering college.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that except for making money, there are two underlying reasons why people work. First, jobs make people endeavor to achieve challenging goals and that experience a meaningful and productive life. Secondly, working gives them the opportunity to communicate with people outside their usual social circle and expand their social networks.