Pets should be treated like family members. Do you agree or disagree with this statement. Give reasons to support your opinion

Family can loosely defined as a group of people who live together at some point in their life even if not a major chunk of it. Psycological studies have shown that living in a family promtes stability and trust important for human development. Thus making a need for family more instinctive. Eventhough concept of family is more revolved around trust bonding and love some people refuse to treat pets as family. I strongly disagree with this. Throughout the passage i will try and compare the qualites that make a human member of the group, part of the family and proves presence of same qualities in pets.

Pets leave their natural home and co habitate with us just like our human partners. The very basic idea of sharing food and shelter are corner stone of the family instituion. Also the bond of love and care sees no speicies so your relationship with a human can be very similar to that with your pet. Thus should be treated as family.

Another common chracteristicsof human in families is loyalty. Pets such as dogs have known to be loyal to their owners. For example i read about a dog who waited almost a year everyday at the front porch waiting for his master to return. Looking out for one another and protecting in the times of danger. This an ideal quality of a close family member like our parents.They are even willing to put themselves in harms way to protest you. There have been many instances of such display by pets. one such incident that comes to mind is when a blind mans dog did not move forward or back ,because if he did his master would and an accident would be inevitable. So he choose to stay still stop his master saving his life, while he got runover by a bus.

Lastly i really dont thinks its possible to live with someone day in day out and not count them as family. By defination and display of qualities pets are similar or in some cases even superior to human family members, Hence i believe thats pets should be treated as family members.