Should children spend most time playing and studying, or they should be required to help the family with household chores, like cooking and cleaning?

Childhood is commonly recognized as a golden period in one’s life. Worry-free and innocent children should have the right to play and study. However, some people believe it is vital for children to do household chores. From my point of view, children should help their family do household chores.

To begin with, children can attain some practical skills by doing household chores. The most fundamental household duties may include washing dishes, feeding pets, watering flowers, and so forth. These household chores are easy to perform while they will bring tremendous benefits to children. While children are doing household chores, they will naturally understand that happiness is based on hard working and laziness is a bad habit. Therefore, the ability to do housework should be developed as early as possible.

Moreover, when all family members are doing household duties together, the relationships between parents and children will be remarkably strengthened. For example, when my 8 years old cousin, Lily, does some housework with her parents, they will talk about things which they do not mention often, like Lily’s school life, where to go for the summer vocation , etc. Spending time doing household chores with her parents will help her learn to respect her parents’ hard work in the future and become more considerate than before.

Admittedly, children can gain something necessary by playing and study. However, should children spend most their time playing and studying? As far as I am concerned, a strong sense of responsibility is quite essential for children, and it can be obtained not only by playing and studying, but also by doing household chores with family. To illustrate, when children do household chores, they have to focus on one thing and finish it on time, or they will be punished. Consequently, children have to take the responsibility for what they did. Therefore, children archive a good sense of responsibility gradually.

All in all, children can benefit in many aspects by doing household chores.