Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Governments have a huge influence on almost every aspects of our lives. The government is not only responsible for defense, education, or health but also does it have responsibilities in creating jobs and lowering taxes. Some people think that the government should invest a majority of its budget on roads and highways projects, while others hold different opinions. In my view, pubic transportation are the best investment for many reasons.

First, improving public transportation will reduce pollution, and ultimately improve people health. According to many studies, one of leading cause for air pollution is cars. They have a significant impact on environment by exhaust poisonous gases that harmed not our health but also do deteriorate the entire ecosystem. For instance, two years ago, I worked in one of a health center that specializes in providing medical devices to runners and athletics.During the course training, I was surprised by many articles that explained disadvantages of running on roads and walk roadsides. According to these articles, people who running on streets are exposed to highly dangerous gases that comes from cars exhaust, and unfortunately, could lead to serious respiratory diseases. Many people, including myself, are not really aware of it and we should take it into account because it affect our health directly. If government has helped big cities to improve their public transportation, it will encourage people to use their cars less often and eventually we could save the environment from getting more pollution. As you can see, investing in public transportation can lead to significant advantage on people.

Second, public transportation is much more convenient.Most public transportation systems do not receive enough funding. Governments don’t invest heavily enough so the system tends to be very inconvenient and out-of-date. Few buses result in poor service and the buses are often old and uncomfortable. Not only do buses suffer from lack of investment but all other forms of public transportation such as trains and subways do as well. For example, When I came to the United States three years ago, I used to work at a gas station located about 15 miles from my home. I did not have a car so I was using the bus to reach the work, also my city does not have a subway system. By using the bus, I faced some difficulties like, even though the bus arrived at morning at the exact time, it took about 45 minutes to reach the destination, while by driving a private car took about 14 minutes. therefore, I came late to my work so many times. On the other hand, When I came back from work to home, usually the bus was overcrowded, many dirty places and uncomfortable at all. And consequently, i quitted from that job because of I could not be able to use the bus anymore. If the government has been spending its budget on improving buses services, or building subway system, people would have been much more comfortable when they get on the buses to do their duties, or work. This experience had taught me that public transportation is so essential for people convenience.

In short, governments should pay particular attention to public transportation not only it will help reduce pollution, but also convenience for citizens. We should always support, and encourage governments efforts to improve the buses, trains, and even subways projects.