Should your government place a tax on the junk food and fatty snacks?

It is an undeniable fact that since past few decades, the craze of eating junk food has been increased tremendously. People prefer to have the junk and fatty food without even thinking about its long term consequences. I firmly support the idea of placing tax on the junk food and fatty snacks. This action will decrease the consumption of the fast food in the following ways.

The exquisite point to be mentioned is that taxation will discourage people to eat fast and junk food. Apparently, the junk food contains unsaturated fatty acids and non-nutritional ingredients, harmful preservatives. Junk food tastes very good as it has additional artificial flavors and it attracts people, as it appears very delicious with added color. The usage of the fatty substance makes people obese on the long run. The unsaturated fatty acid cannot digest in our body; hence it accumulates in form of fat in our body parts like tummy, waist and blood vessels. The fatty food like pizza, a burger etc. are responsible for the deadly diseases like heart attacks and diabetes type II. The new step of taxation will help people to live healthy life style, as people would eat less fast food in order to avoid tax. Therefore, people would live longer compared to the past.

Another point that deserves some words is that the new taxation will motivate humans to cook their food at home. Nowadays, people do not have time to cook their food at home, hence they prefer to grab a cheap junk food from restaurants. In order to save money one avoids buying healthy food from outside. For instance, one can buy a burger for 2 dollars at Wendy’s and if he has to buy a healthy salad, he would have to pay 5 dollars. However, with the new addition, people would do grocery in the super market and would cook food at home. Home cooked food is always better as it does not have any kind of harmful contents.

Finally, the supermarket will not stock more fatty foods in their store. Indeed, the investor will suffer from the loss in the business, as people would not buy the junk food from a store. Businessperson will think twice before doing storage of junk food as they have a fear of losing their profit by storing non-profit items in their stores. Moreover, the government will earn more revenue from the taxation, which can be used in other necessary areas like public transportation, environmental group, health care, education etc. thus, the new change will improve condition of our country.

To wrap up, I utterly believe government should add tax on the junk and fatty food, which is not good for public at all as the food causes several diseases and obesity.