Some people believe that television has had a positive influence on society. Others believe it has had a negative influence on society. Which do you agree with and why? Use details and examples to explain your opinion

Media plays a significant role in modern people’s life. When we think about the word “media”, the first thing, which comes to our minds, is television. Television integrated in our life so much that it is almost impossible to imagine how people lived without it. People argue a lot about the influence of television. Some of them concur that the television is the greatest invention; others think that the negative effect of it is far-reaching. In my personal opinion, that positive impact of television on society overweighs all negative side effects. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, a television is a great source of education. You can find channels, which have a lot of programs about history, geography, biology, philosophy and many more subjects. Those programs are especially useful for kids. Those kids who cannot read or do not like to read will be easily hooked by an educational program, which filmed nicely and easy to understand. For example, my niece, who is 4 years old, did not like the process of learning English. Once she was watching a TV and found a program, in which kids were learning new English words playing games, after they watched short cartoons with new English words. She started watching this program every day. In three months she achieved unbelievable results - she could tell a simple story in English. As you can see, watching write programs can increase your knowledge.

Second, a television is a good and cheap entertainment option. If you are at home alone or you cannot go outside for some reasons, you can always turn on TV and watch an interesting movie. Exactly this situation happened to me last week. I woke up in the morning and realized that I got sick and that meant I had to stay at home the whole day. They idea of not going outside made me frustrated from the beginning of the day. I had my breakfast and after that I did not even know what to do, so I sat on my sofa and turned on a TV. Luckily, I found my favorite comedy show, after that I watched the movie I loved since I was a kid. Surprisingly I did not even notice how the day passed by and I did not feel bored even once. My short story shows that when you have limited options for entertainment, than television is very useful.

To sum up, I strongly believe that television has positive influence on the society and using TV in a right way, you can benefit a lot. This is because depending on your demand, television can educate and entertain you.