Some young people have free time in the evenings after school or on days off from school. Which of the following activities would be most beneficial for young people (ages 14-18) to do in their spare time? Why?

- Gaining practical work experience either at a part time job or by volunteering in the community

- Learning to play a sport

- Learning to play a musical instrument

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that the efficient using of time has played a predominant role in the people’s future. Parent as an important member of each society seeks to pave the best way for children toward the success. One of the most highlighted duties of parents is planning a proper schedule for their children in free times. Not all people concur when this issue arises. To being cognizant to the logic behind those who endorse or repudiate the legitimacy of this contention, not having any biased perception, I presume that attending to a part time job or some communities for a specific work is more profitable for a child in his/her spare time than other activities such as sport or learning music. Among a plentitude of reason in support of this assertion, acquiring a lot of experiences and being familiar with people in a real work could be picked out for further analysis.

To commence with, a consensus has yet to be reached; however, regarding the importance of work experience is finding a prestigious job in prosperous company, based upon the statistics of different general questionnaires in sundry countries, people are unanimous about the conviction that students could be familiar with workplaces and different device and common procedures in the workplace; moreover, they acquire valuable experiences and combine them with their knowledge. This leads to an educated worker which could utilize his/her knowledge in practical situations. Furthermore, these job’s experiences fortify students’ resume and prepare them for attending to the industry in the future. It is clear that companies are willing to employ these people based on their past. A vivid example can be given to shed light on what was elaborated above. The results of a study carried out by Rice University’s graduate students unveiled the fact that about 85 percent of engineers of Benz company in Germany have short time internship in this company or its related companies before the university.

In addition to the reason raised above, regarding the people’s behavior’s difference among industrial places and academic place could also substantiate the justifiability of the claim at the outset of this essay. In conjunction with public belief, students could broaden their horizon about job’s duties and behaviors by participating in part-time jobs. In fact, they would be familiar with different people and various cultures and learn to respect other people’s ideas. Furthermore, they would be responsible for their activities, and if they make mistakes, accept it and try to correct them. For instance, when I was the child, I work for a big newspaper in my hometown. In that job, I should communicate with different people with different status and job positions. I learned that how to appeal different people in a specific manner and increase my profit by using this relation.

Drawing upon the reasons, discreetly put, as far as my personal perspective on the topic is concerned, I reiterate that joining to a part-time job in the spare time of childhood could be more beneficial for children and the stepping-stone for future. It could increase not only their experiences but also their understanding of different people.