Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1. Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study (For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.)

2. Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.) Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why? Give detailed examples and reasons. Use your OWN words, do NOT use memorized examples.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that education has played a paramount role in the people’s life in the societies. All universities attempt to provide an appropriate condition for flourishing students in all facet of their life. Not all people concur when this issue arises. To being cognizant to the logic behind those who repudiate or endorse the legitimacy of this contention, not having any biased perception, I presume that doing some community works in their city is better than taking an extra and irrelevant course in another faculty for optimal using of students’ leisure times during the break. Among a plentitude of reason in support of this assertion, acquiring many experiences and broadening their horizon could be picked out for further analysis.

To commence with, a consensus has yet to be reached; however, regarding the importance of the experience for paving the way toward the success, based upon the statistics of different general questionnaires in sundry countries, people are unanimous about the conviction that student should utilize their knowledge in practice by doing some jobs besides their educations. This activity gives them the opportunity for executing the knowledge in the real life and being familiar with its up and downs. Furthermore, these experiences stimulate them for working hard; moreover, they could fortify their resumes and increase their chances for finding better jobs in the future. A vivid example can be given to shed light on what was elaborated above. In 2013, Rice University required the medical students to go to some distant places in the rural places and gave people some treatments for their illness and diseases. This activity was very helpful for students and people and increase the penchants of the students to work in this kindness places for future.

In addition to the reason raised above; broadening students’ horizon for the better connection with the society in the future could also substantiate the justifiability of the claim made at the outset of this essay. In conjunction with public belief, a suitable communication ability helps students to mix better with the society and it gives them the opportunity for finding a better position and the success. To delineate, students could be familiar with different people with different cultures and behaviors. Indeed, they learn how to behave properly in the future with different people in different position and linked to the whole society. For instance, when students doing some community activities with municipal for improvement one aspect of the city, they should connect with others for acquiring information and this helps them to improve their social skills. As we know, social skill in compulsory for everyone in the future for peaceful connection with other and stepping stone for the future success.

To drawing the reasons, discreetly put, as far as my personal perspective on the topic is concerned, I reiterate that doing some volunteer activities in the city is more beneficial than passing a irrelevant course in the spur time of the university. This option not only does increase their experiences but also broadening their horizon in the society.