TOEFL essay: Is the ability to read and write more important today than in the past? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Over centuries world has been passing on knowledge to the generations through various readability materials, artifacts, research, and ample amount of old historic books. To continue this key chain of learning, improvising, research, innovation and impart knowledge of literature, it is verry important that reading and writing continues. But in twenty first century the skills of reading and writing are more important than that in the past. Numerous reasons are supposed to be held accountable to support this idea.

Firstly, the technology needs language too to intrude itself to the world. Internet, the most important key factor for imparting knowledge related to any field in this world, and hence requires one of the finest writers in order to share the idea among people. And because finest work needs to be read in the right way, requires the best readers. With the advancement in technology and online business, reading and writing have become the vital source of interaction among worldwide communities of students, professors, lecturers, business class, artists and every one else. On the contrary, earlier due to the lack of technology and limited number of schools or colleges, only few could get a chance to get educated, and also because people did not consider reading and writing as important due to less number of available jobs in that particular field.

Secondly, what we get is what we impart or pass on to the next lineage. The world today is full of avid writers as well as readers, therefore giving rise to tough competancy among community and in order to fulfill the survival of the fitest custom one has to excel in these two fields irrespective of their background. Everything needs to be heard and expressed whether it be technology, science, art or any other area that person has been into, the skills of reading and writing will always be the core components to form the basis of every aspect of educational or vocational domain. Futhermore, the lack of efficiency in these two skills always show up in the past artifacts when people used stones and chisel in order to communicate because they did know the skills to read and write.

The notion mention above gives the brief account of importance of one's ability to read and write.