TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

The main purpose of universities and schools is to nurture and raise well educated students who will be qualified and helpful in the fields their country needs. Some believe that government should support univiersities and colleges finanically in sports and social acitivities rather than libraries. However, I have the opposite perspective and believe that universities and governments should consider more budget in improving libraries and classes as these will encourage student to continue their studies.

To start with, libraraies and classes should be funded to be abale to keep up with the advanced technology. Modern students need well-equipped callsroom classroom and libraries to be engaged in academy and lectures. If the libraries do not have modern computers and advanced ergonomic office chairs and tables, students might not be motivated enough. Take my univeristy's library, the Auchmuty Library located at Newcastle, as an example. Recently, the vice-president has considered $1 milllion to renovate the library. After months of renovation, now students have very spacious and modern facilities in the library. We even have a 24 hours un-staffed operating learning lounge which is equipped with the latest laptops and PCs. Student now come to the library significantly more than before. As this example shows, when libraries are sponsored, it will bring more student to be engaged in courses and learning.

In addition, libraries and classes needs more fund for the maintenance and operating costs. To provide a suitable environments which would be warm enough during winter and cool enough during summer, libraries should pay electriciy bills. Most of the libraries, specially in developed countries like Australia, are equipped with microwaves and hot waters. All these devices consume electricity. Without appropriate considered fund, libraries can not continue their services to the students and scholars. Furthermore, libraries should pay for the subscription to scientific journals and books annually which will add to their expenditures. For instance, to be able to download a paper from Chemical Engineering Journal, which is a well-known scientific journal, my university pay thousands of dollars in a year. It can be easily understood that post-graduate students might not come to the libraries if their date data base is not up-to-date. Finally, well-educated staff and knowledgebale professors might not be interseted in working in a uninversity if their salaries are not sufficient. Libraries require enough budget to keep their staff who organise books and assist student to find the most related resources. It can readily justified justify that universities should contribute enugh money to their libraries so they can pay their operating costs and their staff.

In conclusion, universities should consider more budget for libraries and callses classes compared to sports and social programmes, as the main objective of establishment of universities is to educate students. The libraries need enough fund to be able to service students and to have modern facilities and well-educated staff.