TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Universities and colleges are the place where students spend most crucial part of their life exploring on their interests, ideas, talents, goals, friends, etc. Education along with sports and social activities contributes to the holistic development of an individual. So, it is equally important to allocate financial support for sports and social activities.

Education plays a key role in an individual's early stage of life to succeed in his future career. But, education alone does not contribute to a successful career. A student gets to know his capabilities and places himself in the right path only when he tries to explore and perform things that are eccentric and not prevalent. One of the best examples would be the world famous cricketer Sachin Tendulkar who did not excel in his studies, but definitely had a successful sports career. By this, I would say that, if a student is very keen about his interest and chooses sports as his career, one can mend himself to be a better and successful athlete.

In addition, playing Sports is beneficial as it helps to sharpen the mindset, improves reactive response, that in-turn adds on to better performance in the academics. Lots of personal, social and health benefits are gained through sports activities. Also it is an escape from peer pressure and a stress buster. Perhaps, not surprisingly, people who play sports are more active than others.

Admittedly, it is conspicuous that spending money on education benefits by giving better knowledge to the students. In light to this, I would also like to add on the fact that involving in social activities contributes to an individual's personal development. It helps to improve their communication skills, eye contact, ability to listen and be confident.

Finally, I conclude that sports and social activities abreast with education are important for a student in the University.