TPO 02 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Old friends are people with whom we have spent a great deal of time and gone through happiness and hardship of life. This isn't true about new friends; they know nothing about our moods emotional lives. Nonetheless, they can broaden our view toward different facts that we were not aware of in advance. Even though both keeping old friends and making new friends can be beneficial, I subscribe to the view that it is more important to make new friends.

Firstly, some old habits that we have formed are detrimental to our lives, and we wouldn't figure that out until a new person enters our lives. if we stick to the same life we have had, we can never make progress. As an example, I personally had a friend for 9 years. We did the same thing every day; we used to wake up, call each other, go out until the night, and have dinner together. This happened every day. Although we used to spend a perfect time together, we could never manage to study and do more serious works. But apparently, this could not continue to happen forever. We needed to grow up at some point and think about our futures. I realized this when I found a new friend at university. She felt responsible for her life and never wasted the time that she could otherwise use to make progress. Making friend with here, I understood that the way I was living was so harmful to my future.

Additionally, we learn new thing from new friends. Each person has had a different life, and thus, has different perspectives and opinions toward life. My new friend taught me how interesting since was and that my old interests have almost been artificial and nonrealistic. She also taught me that it's natural to have emotions. For instance, I was ashamed that I cried whenever I felt sad. My old friend and I never expressed these feelings. So, we sometimes need to emancipate ourselves from bonds that we have set into our lives. One way to achieve this goal is to make new friends.

On the other hand, one can relax in the vicinity of people and atmosphere that are more familiar. That is, old friends know numerous facts about our personality, they know how we need to be treated during difficulties. We can talk to them whenever we need someone to talk to, this will help us soothe our nerves. Morover, undoubtedly we all have a lot in common with old friends. we share intersts and hobbies. We have grown up and learnt about facts of life together. So it's sometimes good to have old friends.

To sum up, old friend and new friend have both advantages, however, due to personal experience, I believe we benefit the most from having new friends. We can reconsider the impact of old habits into our lives, learn about new facts, and attain a more successful life.