TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Being honest in personal and professional life is an essential characteristic which contributes to a long-lasting relationship. Some people believe that always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relations between individuals. Others, on the other hand, hold the opposite view and make the notion that being honest does not always result in outcomes favourable to us and presumably brings about the end of relationship whether personal or professional. I personally am of the opinion that the latter carries more weight. There are some certain cases in which we have to circumvent telling the truth, which will be aruged in the following essay.

To start with, even now and then any individual has faced some unique and critical circumstances which telling the truth could hurt his or her close friend, parent or partner. If one's wife is diagnosed with a tumour, presumably the physician first lets the husband to know about this serious disorder. Consequently, the physician would suggest that it is the husband's decision to tell his wife about this horrible news. Telling the truth in this case is not an effective and correct decision as it probably brings about more stress and pressure on the patient, discouraging her to start the treatment. If the physician tells her about the side-effects of the treatment, supposedly, she even might not try to undergo the treatment. On the other hand, hiding the reality about her illness and convincing her that she has been diagnosed by a virus which 1 out of 10 people has been affected by, does go a long way towards her well-being. Showing the treatment success rate of patients who get the same disease will also encourage her to undergo a treatment. As this example has showed, sometimes telling white lies not only hinders the breaking down of a relationship but also may save a life.

In addition, always telling the truth might have some adverse effects in our relationships with our colleagues. Consider a case when two colleagues have spoken with each other about the corrupt management system about which one of them was heard from other people. If one of these two staff goes to the manager and tells all the gossip about the corruption, the other one will face significant problems which might even cost him or her job. Furthermore, when an employee speaks with a senior colleague, he or she should be careful when talking about the technical problems. This is a mindful and mature decision to always talk in a manner which shows tactfulness towards the senior colleagues or the manager. Telling the exact truth that their work is worthless or that they do not have deep knowledge of some special projects would have some detrimental impact on the work progress.

In conclusion, although being honest is a key characteristic which we should consider in our personal and professional relationships, it does not mean to stick to it always. There are some cases in which it is recommendable to circumvent telling the truth somehow to prevent the upcoming consequences which might end our relationships.