TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends are the most important gift in our lives. They make our life more meaningful and enjoyable. The issue whether it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends arouses much controversy among different people. some people contend that it is important to keep old friends because they are the ones who know us well and we share a lot of our memory ,sorrow,and happiness together.However, some people in favor of making new friends because they introduce us to the new world and help us in our current situations. As far as I am concerned, I totally agree with the latter one.

First of all, new friends will introduce us to a new world. They will change our look to the world as they will help us to explore new things such as different places, different cultures,or a new life style.when we make new friends ,they will open our eyes to those things that we never experienced before. By this way, they will help us to be more knowledgeable and well-rounded people. For example, when I moved to the US, I was not able to get accustomed to the new environment until i started to go outside and make new friends, everything becomes easier. New friends helped me to know more about the American culture, civilization, life style as well as they helped me to communicate with new Americans because they taught me the language of their country. In addition to that they helped me to find a job, apply for my children school, and even the transportation.As you can see, knowing new friends is ver important.

moreover, our life is full of unexpected situations.Therefore, we need to be in touch with people. What i mean is, when we face an obstacles or problems , we need the help of the people who are around us as in this time our old friends may be in another country. In this situation we need the assistance from the people who are close to us to help us to get through this problem. For instance, when i was preparing for my Fpgee exam, I added a lot of people on my facebook.Later on , these people became my new friends, they gave me a lot of hand tips about the exam as well as the materialss to study from.This experience demonstrates me the importance of having new friends.

Of course, old friends are very important to keep them in our lives because they are the ones whom we shared our beautiful memories. As an old saying'make new friends, but keep the old ones;those are silver, and these are gold' which reflects me the importance to keep in touch with our old friends even we made new ones.

To put it in anutshell, I am in favor to make new friends because they are not only introduce us to the new world;but also they help us to in our current situations. In the same time, we must keep our old friends because 'old is gold'.