TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

To be honest, I do not have a lot of friends. As to the answer the contention regarding keeping old friends or make new friends, I agree that keeping old friends is more important than making new friends. The main reason that I make this claim is time.

To begin with, I think it is difficult to make new friend because one has to spend immense time to completely know a person before deciding to be friends. In order to perceive the true color of a person, one must observe and consider the behavior, faith and thought of him in various situation, which takes a magnitude of time. If I want to make friends with a newly acquaintant, I would spend numrious time talking with him. However, time is precious for everyone in this busy contemporary era. Therefore, to spare time to fully know a stranger is difficult for everybody.

On the contary, keeping old friends is much easier than making new friends. Old friends are classmates, neighbors and colleagues, which people have already know in school, neighborhood and job respectively. One does not need to spend extra time to know their classmates, neighbors and colleagues because their attitude, behavior and ideology are inevitablely conceived in everyday contact. My best friends are classmates from primary school who I spend enormous time with in campus.

Another reason is that friendship, like other relationship, requires time. To maintain old friends requires time, as well as to make new friends. Nonetheless, to maintain old friendship cost less time than making new friends. A e-mail or short message suffices me to maintain relationship with old friends; whereas, the time devoting to a new friends is enormous and unconvenient because I probably have to spare time from my work and study to chat with him. Thus, time is the main reason for me to choose keep old friends rather than make new friends.

To summarize, I concur with the statement that it is more important to keep old friend than make new one. From my experience, I conceive that it is easy to keep old friends instead of making new friends. Besides, maintain old friends requires less time than making new friends.