TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nobody can live without friends. Some people would argue that keeping your old friends is far important than acquiring new friends, while others hold the opposite view. Generally speaking, I believe that making new friends is better. I will explain the reasons for my stance in the following lines.

To begin with, it essential to have friends who share the values and principles of yours. Throughout the course of life, we made a lot of friends, where we were kids, because we met them at school or they were our neighbors. After long time, you can find that you do not have the same values any longer. Human change with time and the that is absolutely normal. Therefore, if you find that you do not believe, like and hate the same things, it is wise to look for other friends who have the same interests. For instance, during the Egyptian revolution in 2011, I found that some of my old friends are supporting the old corrupted regime, while I was big supporter for the change and getting rid of the old political system. I wasn't able to make them change my their minds, and in the same time, I found it preposterous to keep friendship with those who support corruption and unjust. To say it in other words, what matters is the common values, not the length of the friendship.

Furthermore, when you expand your circle of friends, it is likely to have broad perspective and knowledge about life. One should always strive to widen his look to the world by getting close to those people who are more experienced and knowledgeable. No only would it enlarge your social area, but also it will increase the opportunity of getting better in work. If you are eager to keep professional people as friends, you have better chances to progress in your career. For instance, if you are a new graduate, they could recommend you for a certain job, or even show you the way to the reputable dream job. They can help in myriad ways that facilitate your mission.

To sum up, I believe that building a large circle of new friends is crucial than keeping only old friends. This is because we should always seek to find people who hold the same values and principles. In addition, new friends can help you to widen view for the world.