TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to consider if the use of cars in twenty years, the overwhelming majority would support that there will be fewer cars than today. However, the others take the opposite attitude and assume that the use of cars will be as much as today. As far as I’m concerned, decreased car use is more reasonable.

First of all, the development of alternate transportation will cause a negative impact on car usage. Mass transit today is a lot more developed and convenient than it was twenty years ago. It is possible for public transportation in twenty years being even advanced than today. Moreover, security will be another advantage of mass transit compared to cars. For example, I always choose to take a bus rather than driving my own car as the result of the extreme weather in Canada. The increase of public transportation will consequentially lead to the decline of car use.

Secondly, limited parking lot is another reason that people give up their car. Parking cars is headache-caused problem to any manager of shopping malls or other institutions for entertainment. These popular places are always running out of parking lots when weekends or holidays come. It happens all the time that costumers have to park their cars a thousand mile away due to the shortage of the parking lots. Once they park at a place where parking is forbidden, tickets from policeman cost them a lot. So, more and more people will give up their cars and choose alternate transportation to save time and money, not to mention the latter is becoming increasing convenient.

Last but not least, global warming has received additional attention recently, forcing the public to face the environment problem. The carbon dioxide released from the car has negative impact on environment and need to be reduced. Less carbon dioxide means less car running on the road. Unless scientists find the way to control the environmental contamination, government will compel people to cut down their use of cars. For instance, the advertisements on televisions advise us to take more mass transit instead of driving more cars. People’s awareness of environmental protection urge the reduce the cars.

To wrap up, the use of cars will shrink in twenty years because of the development of public transportation, parking difficulty and the attempt to protect the environment.