TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Taking a glimpse of the future is always the temptation of many people and I am one of them. If someone asks me about my imagination for the world of twenty years from now on, I believe there will be a fewer car in use than today. The use of public transportation and the development of technology will be the main factors that put car use into the past, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the exponential growth of public transportation will place a pivotal role in the decrement of car use. Many developed countries that had already built their public transportation for the need of their citizens. Developing countries that do not have the public transportation will build ones of their own. By doing so, people will have the ability to choose between using their own car or the public system. The endorsement of government for public transportation will also a big factor. By increase, the tax fee for those who want to owe a car and decrease the fee for busses and trains will encourage people to switch to the public transportation. The example of high fee for a private car in Singapore is the good demonstration for this. The government of Singapore has been long known for their policy against a private car, making the price of purchasing a car out of store as much as triple the reference price. Their policy, even though seems to be harsh for individual, is beneficial for the society. They promote the use of public transportation, reduce air pollution and help Singapore become an eco-friendly country.

Secondly, the development of technology is also contributing to the reduction of car use. Nowadays, people can stay at home instead of work in their cubicle and still achieve the efficiency as before. The internet has allowed several people in their profession an opportunity to do so. My experience at IT support for a company is a good example for this. With the internet, I can do most of my computer diagnosis at home and rarely have to be in the company, unless for hardware emergency. With that said, the use of my personal vehicle is also reduced. In case that I do have to be in the company, using public transportation is my better choice, due to the convenience and economically friendly. Therefore, the advent of technology in general, or the on internet in particular, has the effect on car in use in the future.