TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are living in the twentieth century the modern era which has witnessed various changes in the field of science and technology . One of the prominent changes that most people would be looking forward to would be the change in the means of transportation . In my view , I believe that there would not be reduction in the number of cars in the future. I would like to put forward examples that support my decision .

In this busy and fast developing world, each and every person needs to be a step ahead of the other. Car is one such invention of technology that has made our lives easier and is an item of luxury. Having a car is a necessity in todays’ fast developing world. Furthermore, travelling by car helps to save a lot of time and energy as compared to travelling by public transportation. For instance : I read an article in the Times of India which described the state of public transport and how inconvenient they were to travel. The article laid emphasis on the travelling conditions of the metro. The article clearly stated that the metro is over-crowded because of which people have to keep standing until they reach their destination. Standing in the metro is dangerous and the person might lose balance and fall .

Hence metro is not a good option to travel .

In addition to this, using other public means of transport –buses , car pools and trains even though , more economical is not a reliable option. Buses have specific routes and to reach the desired destination a lot of buses may have to be changed which may consume a lot time. Car pools require a lot of adjustments according to the needs of the members. Trains have no fixed timings of arrival and departure. The inconvenience caused can be explained using the following example: My father does not use public transport to go to his office because it is not a reliable option. He finds it to be a really tiresome and time –consuming process. He used to initially travel by bus and mostly reached late to the office. Furthermore, he used to get tired changing buses at every stop. As a result, he started travelling by car and made it to office on time . Hence, travelling by a private vehicles is a better option than travelling by public transport.

Based on the examples furnished, I personally think that in twenty years there would be no reduction in the number of private cars. Moreover, people would resort to private vehicles to travel rather than using any other means of transportation due to the ease and comfort.