TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

Time is a mystery which has always helped to organize the whole universe in a particular series. We organize each and every bit of our life according to the time. So, I disagree that people spend too much time on personal enjoyment. If we look back and compare the development of science and technology in the world, we would understand that man isn't wasting his time for personal enjoyment. I would say that, Man, A social animal organizes things in such a way that he makes time for himself when it is needed.

To start with, In this transient world, where people work so hard to build their family and also participate in betterment of society, they don't have extra time to spend for over enjoyment. Youngsters have been the biggest support in the development of country's economy and no one can deny the fact. When the youth are so actively participating and taking responsibilities to solve the country's problem, they have the power to bring revolution in the world. I would like to put forward a case filed by PETA organization against the traditional and cultural bull tamed game in South India called as "Jallikattu". This is when thousands and thousands of youngsters from all over the state came forward protesting this and demanded for the conduct of game. The supreme court of India had to reconsider the decision and granted the permission. After witnessing this, it is clear that people are taking responsibility in a country's issues too.

Added to this, when we see the development in various fields like science, technology, engineering and mathematics, I would say that people are contributing for a better tomorrow. There are myriad examples to consider. For instance, in early days medical field was not advanced and we had to wait for days and weeks to get a simple result of blood test. But now, immediate results are possible which shows the advancement in the field of science. In olden days, there were fewer facilities to communicate news. Comparatively speaking, media is one of the fastest medium of communication currently which shows advancement in technology. Of course there are pros and cons in every invention. But, the advantages outweighs the disadvantages and there is improvement in every sector only because people are doing the things they should do.

Admittedly, there are justifications by the people who argue that technology has made man sedentary. We have to agree that as the technology develops, we should also accept that there are both advantages and drawbacks. But when you see the development in field of medical, science, technology and engineering, the effort and time people put in the research, the discoveries and inventions cope with it. In light to this, reinforcing the idea how man has made the world a better place for living, there is nothing wrong in taking time for personal enjoyment for sometime.

With the aforementioned facts, it is clearly seen by the development of Science and technology, Man has always been a responsible social animal actively involved in finding ways and means for a better future.