TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In general, life today is much easier and more comfortable than it was when our 40 years ago due to the development of technology. My grandpa always says that our generation possess a lot more opportunities than that of his age. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, the invention of the Internet bring us to an unprecedented and unpredictable situation. It enables us to access resource that is unavailable previously. Almost everything is available electronically if you search it on the Internet, for instance, once my grandfather wanted to find some books, after 30 minutes’ walking to the public library, he only to be told that the book he wanted was gone. If the circumstance is considered now, there are two options. We can either get the electronical version online or check online if the books are still available before we go to the library. Internet help us to approach more information and save our time on finding them.

Secondly, the medical technology has developed dramatically. Many diseases considered untreatable in our grandfathers’ age can be treated nowadays. In addition, with advanced facilities, doctors can easily and accurately differentiate the illness, so that the patients can suffer less. Medical technology even turn organ transplant into reality. One of my grandfather’s friends had to cut off his legs because of the car accident, I think maybe there are more treatments nowadays for him rather than lose his legs. To some extent, medical technology can make us live longer than before.

Finally, the development of transportation shorten the distance of two locations. High-speed railways are getting faster and faster. My grandfather said that he needed two hours to reach Beijing, our capital city, but now it only takes me half an hour to go there. Also, we can transport perishable goods which would get rotten on the way like fresh fruits and seafood by fast delivery and developed preservative skills. We can experience food from thousands of miles away. The development of transportation unite the whole world closely.

To wrap up, our life today is much easier and more comfortable than before because of the development of technologies in terms of internet, medical treatment and transportation. If I’m asked, I would say our life will become better and better in the future.