TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The life quality people enjoy improved as time goes by. I concur with the fact that people enjoy a higher quality of life today than sixty years ago when my grandparents were teenagers. I thinke this change happened because of the availablity of abundent food and higher education.

To begin with, people nowadays have no worry about hungry because they can easily access to plenty of food, which was scarce druing my grandparents' childhood. In the 1940s China was undergo civil war and people can hardly feed them full. This situation gradually changed after China joined the WTO in 2002 when commodities suddenly appeared in vast number. I remembered my life changed better when I was twelve years old because I was able to eat meat more often than before. Before China's membership of the WTO, the only chance for people to enjoy a feast was during a celebration when meat was proffered in banquet. Nowadays, people can buy various kinds of meat in supermarket with affordable price, and people nowadays have to consider to lose weight due to unbalanced diet dominantly on meat. Without question, people nowadays do not worry about deflated belly like people lived in 20th centry.

Moreover, people at comtemporary era own effortless access to education, especially higher education. People before 1980s in China almost have no chance to study in school. One reason is that the family cannot afford the tuition, another reason is that the child are need to help in farmwork because extra hand was need in farmland to yield more food for the starving family. My grandparents are both unliterated due to the complex enviornment of their childhood. Nonetheless, the attitude towards education changed in last two decades when children are encouraged to study in school and supported by family. My cousins and me all finished tertiary education. A higher education provides better opportunity to a decent job and live a higher quality of life.

To summarize, I strongly agree that people today enjoy an easier and more comfortable life than people of sixty years ago. One reason is that people now have easy access to plenty food and do not need to worried about starvation, and the other reason is that people nowadays have chance to pursue higher education that facilitates a higher quality of life.