TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without not doubt, many people could support the statement that is more important that students understand ideas and concepts over facts, and other people could have the opposite point of view. As far as I am concern, I firmly believe in the statement proposed above. Clearly, for me, understanding ideas and concepts are the fundamental support for an effective learning.

First of all, learning facts are important, but more important is to know how these facts are produced and why. This previous analysis of the context of a subject, would bring the holistic comprehention of a phenomena in all its meaning. To illustrate this claim, let's consider a mathematics formula that can calculate a physical phenomena like throwing a ball, with a space and distance proposed. Clearly, the student could memorize the formula and apply it every time he or she wanted to calculate distantes or forces involved, but he or she needs to understand, first, what is behind the forumal; thus, understand the idea o concept, to apply it correctly. On the other way, the student could use the same formula to calculate density, or gravidity, or anything else that has nothing to do with throwing an object.

Additionally, students could find easier to remember facts if they know previouly the idea o concept that sustains those facts. For example, going back to the mathematic's formula, it would be easier for a student to remember the different elements of the formula, if he or she knows the concept of the equation used for calculate distant or force.

Finally, we have to consider that facts along does not mean anything without an idea or a concept that can connect those facts into a thesis. For instance, students can not analyse any fact without the correct asociation to something else bigger than the facts itself. My own experience is a good example of this. When I was a student I failed to pass a difficult grade, as many other studients. However, when I could undertand the global concept of the subject I didn't need to much study to get the highest score in the following exam.

In summary, considering the three reasons explained above I strongly agree with the statement proposed. By this token, I can afirm that is more important, as a student, to understand ideas and concepts before memorizing facts without the comprehention of its couses and effects.