TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Form a board perspective, in the current states of affairs we face, most companies by means of technological breakthroughs like television advertising aimed at young children for their products like foods, clothes and so forth. Some people may disagree with me, but as far as I am concerned I completely and unquestionably agree that such advertisement ought not to be allowed for young children. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

The first reason for this is that such television advertisements will waste money of parents. What I mean to say is that companies manufacture goods with different designs, colors and models to encourage children to purchase their products and because young children could not realize goals of companies, they see these advertisements and do not care about price of products and their brands but they insist on baying those even parents are not agree or have not enough money. Therefore, children force their parents to purchase goods that have been advertised. For example, a friend of mine has a child that see television every day and whenever he likes a product, he compel his father to buy it. My friend could not save money because of his son.

The second and most important reason is that the health of children will be threatened, when they watch food advertising programs. All parents perfectly understand that the ages of two to five are very critical for children to grow and become a healthy adult. Based on a research, most ingredient in these products are sugar, favoring materials, preservative and so on that are harmful to health and have a devastating effect on mental performance and also this food can be the origin of several thorny problems such as overweight, malnutrition, and hypertension. For instance, my nephew is used to consuming a lot of junk food and fruit juices which there is a lot of advertisements about them. As a result, he could not concentrate on his lessons well so that he could not even solve a simple a math question. As a consequence, his grades is very low at school.

To wrap up, as a father I definitely see several grave negative consequences of advertisement which is aimed at young children. Thus, it should not be allowed.