TPO-09 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People could argue hours about the positive and negative influence that technology has on children. As much as I understand, I think technology are having a positive impact no only in children, but in all of us. Thus, I disagree with the statement proposed above. I think technology has made children equal or more creative, but with a new and different creativity than they had in the past.

Firs of all, technology is now part of our lives, and we depend on it in many levels. In fact, it is important that children can get along with technology in early age as this could provide an advantage for their performance when they start school time. Technology is a fact they would have to deal with, at school, college, and future jobs, with no exception. Additionally, creativity is not something technology is destroying, but changing. For instance, a recent game called Maincraft became very popular among children of seven to ten years old. This game incentive the creativity of children in matter of space and dimension, improving also their skills with forms and objects in 3D. Today, children far away of being less creative, are using a new kind of creativity that we adults are always surprise to discover.

Secondly, technology today offers a fantastic resource of information and knowledge through internet. It is important to mention, that not all the information we can find and get from internet is real, accurate or genuine, but without doubt it is our first option when we want to have a first approach to a subject of study. Consequently, this source of information also support the creativity for a young mind. For instance, discover other possibilities and points of view to resolve a problem, or a complete new concept about a subject he or she never heard about, and more, can without any doubt improve the creativity.

Finally, the new technologies, like smartphones, ipad, 360 recording devices, etcera, invite at the same time the develop of a new type of creativity. To illustrate this claim, let's consider how children manage to create their own movies with only their smartphones and then uploaded them online, after editing the footage recorded. This new media art is the prove of a new type of creativity.

All in all, considering the reasons giving above, I deeply disagree with the statement proposed by the thesis. Technology now is part of every level of our lives, providing more resources of information and knowledge, and new creative tools to play with. Thus, technology, far for dismiss the children's creativity, incentive that creativity in a new and better way.