TPO-09 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Technology has made huge impacts on our lives from generations to generations. Children nowadays spend a lot of time on electronic productions, considering they are necessaries. Thus, some parents concern that technology has made children less creative than they were in the past as the result of overplaying electronic devices. However, it’s not completely true to say that technology affects children’s creativity in a negative way.

The reasons are as followed.

To begin with, technology provides more opportunities for children to assess the information. Creativity doesn’t come from nowhere as it is based on extensive knowledge and profound comprehension. Technology broaden children’s horizon by demonstrating brilliant achievements accomplished by our priors. For example, last Friday I took my little sister to the science museum to witness the experiment of Faraday Cage. She was completely attracted by the magic of science. That was when she started to learn electricity in school; hence, she made a presentation on both what she had learned from the experiment and her own idea of the electricity. Therefore, children are gaining more valuable information than what parents think their children can gat form the technology.

Moreover, children who are fond of technology could become geniuses on technology. When people are talking technology, they are more likely talking about the computer and internet. Computers we are using today is the creation of all the programmers. They work day and night coding, testing and maintaining the system. I would say that programming is another way to create while most parents consider only a physical creation matters. What’s more, robot are prevalent these days. Some amazing robots are made by children who are interested in both programming and engineering. The development of technology has exceeded the conventional knowledge of most people due to the increasing number of talent on technology.

Last, there is another voice saying that children only use electronic devices like iPad to play games in regardless of the good initial intention of parents to educate children. I kind of agree with this point. Some games are fun but meaningless. Nevertheless, there are some games requiring the creation of players, like the series of Angry Bird. In that game, players have to figure out the optimal way associated with perfect angle and appropriate strength to break down the defense. That, to be frankly, asking for the ability of analyzing and creating. Creation of children could be improved from good games requiring different ability.

To wrap up, just because technology helps children to develop their creation in a way that is not in line with the traditional way doesn’t mean it makes children less creativity.