TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Allowing children to play computer games attracted much social concern. Different people possess different reasons for their different choices between allowing or not. Many parents state that it is necessary to forbid children to play computer games. Personally, I agree with this statement.

First and foremost, what I put in my priority is study affection. It is apparent that, playing computer games is a time-consuming activity. It steals time of children which should be used for studying, reading books, or doing home assignments. For that reason, children lack time for accumulating knowledge and revising older ones. As a result, they are not able to understand the lessons well and it leads to their poor results. More severely, computer games permission is likely to make children addicted. Being addicted to computer games, children are willing to skip classes in order to engage in it. This will be detrimental if occurs consecutively. Children’ performance in school will decline dramatically and this will make them even more dispirited and discourage them from studying. Hence, their schooling result will be a disaster. Indeed, by permitting children to play games in computer, their result in school will be very low.

In the second place, health problem is another essential factor contributing to this essence. It cannot be denied that; computer games allowance creates chances for children to become short-sighted. By sticking their eyes to the computer screen for a long period, children’ vision is defected severely. Therefore, their health will suffer and their life will be also affected. Moreover, children are prone to obesity when they are permissible for playing computer games. On account of sitting for a long time before the computer, children lack physical activities such as playing sport, go for a walk and so on. Lack of activities which activates body makes fat to be stored inside body which causes obesity. Not only being obese, work out shortage is able to create many other diseases, for instance, heart attack, etc. By and large, children’ health weaken if they are allowed to play games on PC.

Lastly, skill deterioration is what cannot be left out when considering the essence. It is widely known that, playing computer games blunts children’ communication skill. As they devote themselves to games, they don’t have time to interact with other people including friends, parents and so on. Because of lack of communication, their communication skill wanes and when the world is more and more connected and requires a person various skills, especially communication skill, this shortcoming is dangerous. More dangerously, playing games is likely to corrodes self-control skill of children. The games market is extremely broad and the games itself are very glamorous with high quality graphics, interesting contents which attract player so much. Players are able to play without noticing hungry, thirsty, tired. Moreover, violent games can infuse children’ behavior badly, can make them more aggressive or even to commit crime. With no doubt, by allowing children to play computer games, can their personal skill be ravaged.

In summary, study affection, health problem, skill deterioration are convincing reasons for my agreement. I highly recommend that parents should take my writing into great consideration to make an appropriate decision on allowing children to play computer games.