TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many children became interested in computer games. Some people would argue that computer games are beneficial to children, while others may consider the opposite point of view. In my opinion, computer games can benefit our kids in many levels. I will explore the reasons for my stance in the following essay.

To begin with, computer games can help children to improve their digital literacy and be more familiar with using the modern technology. It goes without saying that the proficiency of using computers became an essential skill needed in any job. Therefore, it is vital to offer our children with all the necessary skills in that area in a way that is tempting and enjoyable to kids. One of the best methods to achieve this goal is through the computer games because simply they are learning and playing without feeling they are really realizing. It has been proved that most effective methods for educating is through playing and activities which are amusing to young people. For example, one of the modern techniques in the education system is to learn using interactive games where the students have great fun and knowledge at the same time. These new methods that integrate technology and gaming into the educational process is becoming more intrinsic to the modern teaching methods. For instance, when I worked as a teacher in a primary school, I used some kinds of games to get my students familiar with some historical figures.

Secondly, it help the kids to build critical thinking and enhance their mental abilities. Many games these days are impeded with puzzles and tricks, which require a to think creatively and calculate all the possible solution for the dilemma or the plot in the game. In other words, it help children to imagine themselves in real situations where are facing a problem and then explore all the available ways to solve it. By that way, children learn how to think rationally and examine all the possibilities, with all the associated pros or cons. That is one good way to build a sound and logical thinking.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that games have more advantages than disadvantages. It can be used to increase the knowledge of children and boost their mental abilities.