TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many children became interested in computer games. Some people would argue that computer games are beneficial to children, while others may consider the opposite point of view. In my opinion, computer games can assist our kids atmany levels. I will explore the reasons for my stance in the following essay.

To begin with, computer games can aid teenagers to augment their digital literacy and be more familiar with the modern technology. It goes without saying that the proficiency and mastering computers became an essential skill needed in any job. Therefore, it is vital to teach our children all the necessary skills, in a way that is tempting and enjoyable for them. One of the best methods to achieve this goal is through the computer games, because simply they are learning and playing. It has been proved that most effective methods for educating is based on playing activities which are amusing to young people. For example, one of the modern techniques in the education system is interactive games where the students have great fun and knowledge at the same time. These new methods that integrate technology and gaming with the educational process are becoming more intrinsic to the modern teaching methods. For instance, when I worked as a teacher in a primary school, I used some kinds of games to get my students familiar with some historical figures.

Secondly, it helps the kids to build critical thinking skills and enhance their mental abilities. Many games are impeded with puzzles and tricks, which require a to think creatively and calculate all the possible solutions for the dilemma or the plot in the game. In other words, it helps children to imagine themselves in real situations, where they are facing a problem and then explore all the available solutions. By that way, children learn how to think rationally and examine all the possibilities, with all the associated pros or cons. That is one effective way to build a sound and logical thinking.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that games have more advantages than disadvantages. It can be increase the knowledge of children and boost their mental abilities.