Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. children should not be allowed to play them.

many people believe that computer games do not give anything good for the development of a child during his growing and learning years. but, I think computer games in moderation are good for a child's development. As there are several games which gives various view-points on different real-life scenarios and some games can of them affect the child in a very positive way. Of course, playing video games must be done in a controlled environment and only for limited periods of time in the week. there are several reasons why I believe so.

First, it gives a child a different kind of exposure and a slightly unorthodox way of entertainment and hence, I prefer to see games as they are, simply a source of entertainment. Obviously, I agree that a child should play outside but that does not mean that he should be deprived of computer games all together. these days computer games have a very wide range choice just like any other sport these games can also inculcate good practices to children like team-work and some games require the player to think outside the box to complete tasks. this basically exercises a child's brain more than their physical body. so kids should divide their time between playing outside, exercising and playing computer games, which according to me a few hours a week is not that bad.

Second, it is involving unlike watching television, in computer games, the players get involved in the various situations set by the game personally and make it an individual or a shared experience. this may not be a replacement for real people and real-life experiences but it can simulate a similar environment and help children interact with their friends better. Well, when peers come over to play games, it does manifest into a social interaction between friends and encourages friendships and emboldens relationships too. Not just friends, if parents want to spend some quality time with their kids. games give them an opportunity to connect with them at a much informal setting and help children open up to parents. I had the same experience as a child as I used to play games with my friends which gave me a chance to connect and understand them better, compared to those with whom I could not play games.

Finally, there are many competitions held these days around the world which gives rewarding prizes to the players. so, now one can say that playing games are not a complete waste of time and can bring something good to the table. Not every parent encourages playing games for a prize but if you see the positive side of it, these competitions involve team building and working together in coordination in order to reach the top position. this gives a good competitive environment for the students and also helps discover friendships and team-achievements and also to perform better in future with a goal in mind.

In order to conclude this, I would say that children should be allowed to play computer games but there should be restrictions on the time for which the child spends his time playing games and also on the type of games he(or she) is allowed to play.