TPO 10-Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

There is no doubt that new technologies play significant roles in our life. This often brings up a controversial question: how they influence people's lives? Do they have negative or positive effects? In this regard, some people are inclined toward the opinion that computer games are useful for children whereas others hold exactly the opposite perspective. From my vantage point, it will be extremely profitable if we encourage our children to play computer games less frequently since it influences negatively their studies, physical health and mental health. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my perspective.

One of the reasons that immediately comes to mind is that playing computer games for long hours leads to sedentary life style which is the important cause of serious illnesses such as obesity, poor eyesight and muscular problems like backache. Related statistics show that students who waste their time on computer games are unhealthier than ones who spend their times on doing exercise instead of sitting in front of computer and playing games for long hours. In fact, for playing these games children sit in front of computer's monitor and they blink slowly/rarely. This acts lead to obesity and poor vision which affect negatively their studies. But if they do exercise or play real/practical/active games, for example playing football with their friends, they will be energetic and healthy which leads to productive studying in school.

Another equally significant reason is that these games afflict children mental health in terrible way. This means that these games expose children’s thoughts into violence. Take war games for instance. These games increase aggressive manners in the children which disturb their social activities such as group studies in school, teamwork activities in outdoor games and so on. Children's aggressive behavior make them unavailable to interact with their social problems because not only they don't try to solve their problems in a logical way but also they solve their social problems/issues by force. That is to say, they imitate the games' violent characters and use their methods to face their difficulties. Children, specially in young age, are prone to emulate adults behaviors so if they spend their time on those games, they will follow games’ characters’ manners/manners of games’ characters instead of their parents’ behavior. Children's problems in social activities leave them secluded which sensitize/subject them to be depressed.

To wrap it up, I deeply believe that computer games effects our children harmfully. Sedentary lifestyle and unsociable personality lead them to serious problem. They couldn't do exercise, play outdoor games and encounter with difficulties because of those fruitless games. So parents should encourage their children to engage in proper activities and teach them to spend their time on study, research and sports.