TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Certainly, some people if asked would agree with the statement that is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. While, some others have the opinion that it depends upon various factors. For example, the major which you are reseraching, the toughness of the subject, the satisfaction upon knowing the subject in deep. As far as I'm concerned, I adopt a firm position by agreeing that broad knowledge of many academic subjects is useful in the long run of life.

Broad knowledge in many streams help you to choose your career oppurtunities better. Most of the people get bored by doing the same type of work continuosly. Although the work is different, due to no disparity in the stream, they find the work boring. For example, I took my major in Electronic and Communciation Engineering. Apart from that I took my minor in Maths and Computing. I took another Audit course apart from the major on Machine Learning whIch is developing in the world rapidly. By taking various courses in differeNt streams , I could switch to different subjects whenever I get bored on one particular subject. Furthermore, I can perceive my MS program in my interested stream. If I had not taken any of the extra courses apart from,my major, I would have landed in huge trouble. In this way, having knowledge in various subjects helped me.

Most of the subjects are interrelated. One subject needs the knowledge of other. For example, Science alone is of no use as well as Maths. Maths concepts are needed in science and vice versa. For example, In Computer Networks course, most of the time we will be dealing with graph algorithms. Algorithms and data structures course which I have learned in my 1st year course helped me a lot in solving the problems as well as understanding the concept in detail. If the prerequisite course is not taken, I would have faced a lot of trouble and waste lot of my time in reading the earlier course again.In this way, having knowledge of various subjects is useful.

However, some people claim that by studying various subjects, they will be wasting a lot of time. Moreover, they claim that they don't read any subject perfectly. However, this is not the case always. Studying various subjects is not all considered as waste of time. It may be helpful to us in future. For example, NASA scientists are sending satellites into space and retrieving the information using various subjects. They have to concentrate on Aerospace subjects, Mathematics for calculations, Science for various phenomenon etc. They have to excel in every subject to send the satellites successfully.

In conclusion, due to the reasons mentioned above, it is very important to have knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. It also enhances our thinking power.