TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Under the current social circumstances, the issue concerning whether the extended families have been less important than they were before have brought into public focus and triggered all sort of controversies. In my point of view, I agree with this statement due to the reasons below.

Primarily, the far distance between small families makes people have fewer opportunities to see their distant relatives. In contrast to the people in the past who lived with their extended families, the increasing movements of population nowadays have brought to the separation of big families, and thus different families would have their own choice to live in a city that fit them the best. Living far away from their extended families, people tend to care more about themselves rather than treat distant relatives as an important part of their life. For instance, while my mother had her grandparents accompanied her every day when she was young, I am just able to visit my grandparents who live in a province far away from me less than 2 times a year, which definitely means that grandparents do not play and important part in my life than my mum’s.

Second, people don’t need lots of help nor contact from extended families than they used to do. As our country is developing in a positive way, technology exploded not only with various useful inventions like smartphones and internet but also provides us better medical treatment. Therefore, now small families don’t need to think frequently if their extended families live a comfortable life since each family have its ability to live well. This makes extended families less important than they were in the past. Take my parents experience as an example, they just greet their extended families in the Wechat when there are some special events such as a relative’s birthday now, rather than visiting them and preparing presents in the past. Moreover, they rarely need money or advice from us because they could acquire information from the internet.

Last but not least, larger society circle make people live happily without the company of extended relatives. People could meet different kinds of people and make friends with people who have same interests while surfing in the internet or in the society, so it is not necessary of them to stay in an extremely good relationship with their distant relatives in order to gain happiness. My brother Jack, a successful businessman with plenty of opportunities to get to know people all over the world in parties or social events nowadays, seldom communicated with his extended families since he has already had enough friends. So, his distant relatives certainly could not play important roles in his life.

In conclusion, I attribute the decrease of the importance of extended families to far distance, no need for help and more friends around. That’s why I believe that the extended families have less significance now than they used to be.