TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The family is an inevitable part of everyone, either lineal or collateral relatives. However, family members are pulling away as the development of the society. We are now in a ridiculous point that more other things full of our life, distant from family, the extended family especially.

The first obvious phenomenon is that extended family members no longer have much time to spend together. Modern world, high technology, we have to keep up with the fast pace of our society, right? After all, time and tides wait for no man. What's worse, many jobs are born to be busy, like actors, journalists, airline stewardesses. Accordingly, when we have no time, who will be neglected? Our family, the closet part of our life. There’re some personal examples. My father didn't come back home for two whole months last year because of a business meeting! Not to mention my busy aunts, my intelligent uncle. And I, who always addicted to academic studies, have desire but no time to take care of my lonely grandpa for a half year. He must be upset about that, but my time has to be sacrificed to study.

Additionally, living in different places is also an enormous obstacle between family members. At old times, people from one family more likely to do the same job in a small region. A son of a farmer is hardly to be a businessman, an office man will train his son as another office man. As a result, they always live together and form a large family group, all the extended family members included. However, in the wake of the social development, diversified jobs come into birth, which lead to large variations between different generations. Therefore, the family members no longer occupy the same jobs, and they even move to a remote city to get better career. It's hardly impossible for us to communicate with extended family, and we even can't see them.

The last but not the least is that, more relationship occupies our time now, so underplaying the family becomes acceptable. At old times, reliance on family members seems to be indispensable in a whole life in a bit to solve all the problems. On the contrary, we are currently involved in a more intricate social net, in which we are surrounded by all kinds of friends, leaders, colleges in our office. That means all the problems you encountered could be easily solved by those people without your extended family. These alternatives also lead to a less important of extended family.

All in all, it's an era that needless to pay much attention to our family. It's such a pity since we are so close genetically. So, if you have time, go to visit your extended family members. They are bonded to you.