TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In our lives, the family is one of the most important dimenssions of life. It is essential especially to producing new generation. Some people believe that the extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past; other people disagree. I absolutely agree with the idea that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past for two important important reasons that are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

First major reason is that people have to work a lot. When pople work a lot they do not have enough time to spend time with their family such as grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles and event their parents. For example, tow years ago, when I had to work towlve houres a day and seven days a week in a computer company. I do not have time to spend it with my family. During that time I had never seen my grandparents and even my parents. Because I had to do my project on time. So in that time it was not important for me to meet my extended family.

The second reason is an considerable decrease in the rate of marriage. Blecause of economy problems especially unemployment in most of countries, a lot of people do not get married. And so they do not have a family. Also those who get married just has one or two children. In other words, Children of these children do not have aunts or uncles. For example, in my family, I do not get married. And each of my brothers just have had one child. So in the future we do not have a extended family. Therefor, it is less important for us.

To sum up, I absolutely agree with the idea that the extended family is less important now than it was in the past. Not only do people work a lot, but they also cannot afford to get married. The government should deal with this problem as soon as possible.