TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

Everyone has its own way to learn things that are important in life to make a better future and one of the things is to become responsible in life. But is it fine to let adults, children manage their own money at a young age? Well some people of the society think that it is not a good way to make them learn “how to be responsible” as they can get ruined. However, I believe that it is a good notion for the following reasons.

First, it is extremely important for children to know the value of money as to comprehend the lesson of responsibility. In most parts of the world children are provided with all the facilities and comfort by their parents and so they do not know the exact value of the luxury items that they are using. They are not aware of the fact that it is very difficult to earn money. This makes them carefree and so they start taking things for granted for example my fifteen year old son has all the luxuries at home. He spends a lot of money on buying unnecessary expensive things such as I phone, pay station etc. This really jolts me as to when will I be able to teach them the value of money and that how hard it is to earn it

Second, children should be taught how to save money as it is crucial for their future. In today’s modern world children are dependent completely on their parents for all their needs. But in future when they will have to survive on their own without the assistance of parents, it will be quite intricate. That is why, they should be given the knowledge of managing resources on their own. I can say this strongly because I have observed it, one of my friends father was very wealthy. So, when he died he left huge amount of money and property for his only son but as he never taught his son how to manage money, he flittered it all within few years and later he was broken financially. This incident taught me that it is essential to make children aware about the utilization and investment of money at a young age and to do so it requires that children should be given liberty to manage their money

To recapitulate, I would like to say that everything has its own advantages and drawbacks like there is a possibility that if children get the freedom to spend as per their wish then they might get spoiled also. On the other hand, it is worth talking risk if one can teach a child one of the important lessons of life as it will help him/her all life to grow and to have a secure future.