TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Travelling and exploring the different countries of the world is one of the most interesting things that many people are willing to do. I certainly agree with the statement that the best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. I will explore the reasons for my stance in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, when we travel to a completely different country and culture, it is vital to have someone with you who is more experienced with the culture and habits of this people. That would save you a lot of possible troubles and misunderstanding. It also eliminates the chances that someone take advantage of you when he realizes that you are a foreigner. For instance, I witness here in Egypt on daily basis some foreign individuals from western countries who pay double price for services just because they provider of the service are aware that this stranger does not know anything about the real price of services in the countries and he usually tries to avoid any problems with natives even if he is fully aware that he is being deceived. I think have a tour guide will save the you all possible trouble and facilitate such kinds of dealing with the people of the country you are visiting.

Furthermore, as a citizen form different culture or maybe even religion, you may be encountered with set of values that completely do match yours. Being alone in a place that you are not familiar enough with habits, traditions and culture could put you in very embarrassing situations. Another vivid example of this point is form my country Egypt, which a favorable destination for many European people. In my country, especially in the countryside, people are very conservative about they way they wear and behave in public. As a result they consider that wearing some types of clothes that reveal a lot of the body is an insult to their culture and tradition. They will tend to be unfriendly because they have this unreal thought that you are not giving their culture and tradition the needed respect. Having a tour guide will make all these possible situations vanish and on the contrary, your experience will be more enjoyable when he tells you about the different culture and traditions in these villages.

in conclusion, I believe that travelling with a group led by a tour guide will enhance your chances of enjoying your time and avoid all the possible misunderstanding you could face.