TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Traveling is not only a way to gain relaxation, but it is also a treasured opportunity to experience a variety of cultures and customs. There are certain considerations that everyone can take into account when investigating the necessity of having a tour guide during the trip. Some might contend that having a trip alone is desired for it brings more freedom. As far as I am concerned, it is better to travel in a group with a tour guide.

First and foremost, a tour guide can make the trip more fruitful by introducing the sites and related facts. Needless to say, traveling is not only about seeing beautiful sceneries, it also consists of exploring local customs and traditions. The tour guide actually plays an irreplaceable role in introducing background information, such as historical stories related to the sites. What is more, the tour guide can also provide suggestions regarding with itinerary and schedule, letting travelers make most of their time.

Secondly, safety is also a noticeable reason. When hiking in forests or mountains, it is not unlikely for tourists to get lost, which should be prevented. Therefore, it is absolutely necessary to have someone familiar with the region guiding the travelers as well as warning them of potential risks and dangers. After all, no one want to see a pleasant trip turning into a tragedy.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by those who argue that self-traveling is better. In this way, people can plan their time and routes freely, and it also saves the money to hire a guide, which can be spent to make the trip more enjoyable. Nonetheless, I still affirm that having a tour guide is worthwhile. People can gain much information from talking with the guide, making the trip more meaningful. Sometimes, it is even memorable simply to meet local people or other tourists in the group and listen to them talking about their own life and stories.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that the best way to travel is to be in a group led by a tour guide, and having a deeper understanding of local culture and safety are two prime and conspicuous reasons.