TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The influence of other people is really critical for students’ growth which we should take care of who can be the most important people like teachers and students. But in my point of view, the teachers have more influenced on students with their richer knowledge and more concerned about students.

To begin with, teachers have more experience and knowledge than students that means they know what’s the students most need. Normally, they had experienced the same trouble and then overcame it many years ago, not like students’ friends who also are in the same trouble. For example, some senior high school students have trouble in choosing a university. But their teachers who are graduated can give them good suggestion because they have fully understood lots of universities. What’s more, teachers are expert in some fields because they have studied for many years. They can fully understand your condition. If you ask for your friend, they may know less than you. When I was in high school, each time I got some difficult math problems, I first asked my math teacher for help because he could give me the best ideal to finish them. So that is why teachers can give more influence than friends.

Then, as teachers are devoted themselves to teach and help students to have a good future, students can be easily influenced by them. They can help students not only in study, but also in their developments. For example, my brother, Li was always drunk alcohol when he was in a middle school. His friends didn’t care about this or didn’t want to make him unhappy, thus none of them stopped his bad behavior. But his teacher once found this behavior, then he tried his best to let he know the bad result of drinking alcohol for young people. Luckily, with the teacher’s one year effort, he finally understood it and never drunk it again before he became an adult. Without his teacher, I can’t think he can stop his bad behavior with no other people care about it.

Though we have to admitted that students have better relationship with friends than their teachers, friends often find they can’t influence them well for they don’t have enough knowledge. Even friends never know they can influence them.

In the end, I agree with this statement that Students are more influenced by their teachers.