TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every person has its own way of collecting information; some people think it is better to get information through one source only as it is quite feasible for them and inexpensive too. On the other hand, I believe that the advantages of taking information by various ways are far outweigh than the first choice due to the following reasons and justifications.

First, it is not always good to rely on only one source of information. In today’s modern world, competition is very tough and journalism is not an exception to it. In fact, this is a field in which people can do anything to sell their news and to increase the so called “TRP” of their channels or news papers. I can say this strongly as recently I observed that how news reporters and channels fabricate the actual fact and present it in a entirely different way for example in case of a JNU student, Krishna who was accused to be a rebel as he was marching and provoking students against our country and prime minister Modi ji. However, few channels showed him as innocent and gave incorrect and incomplete information to the mass and tried to misguide.

Second, nowadays all have busy schedule and don’t have time to specially watch news. Now, people are so extremely busy in their lives which do not allow them to take out spare time just for the news. Although, everyone is interested in knowing the latest news and to keep them updated but it is not possible for many of them to sit, relax and watch news on TV comfortably. Thus, I think other sources of information are good substitutes such as internet. It is the best way to know what is happening around within no time. In addition, it is convenient to carry laptop or mobile phones anywhere and watch the news of one’s choice without having to spend extra money and time. I see people watching news in cars and metro train while travelling which is incredible.

To recapitulate, I would like to assert that although there are many people who would like to stick to their old fashion ways of collecting knowledge as they are habituated of it and feel more comfortable using them. Conversely, young generation prefer the new sources of information and make the best use of them. They not only save time, money and energy but they indeed enjoy using these high tech gadgets for various other purposes as well.