TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, there are many sources for news. People have many options to get information, but choosing the right source is important. Some people prefer to get information through a channel, on the other hand some people think otherwise. Both ways have some advantages and disadvantages. I personally prefer to read all news in a one newspaper instead of variety of papers from different resources.

First and foremost, many resources are filled by fake news. Authors of those news are some business mans, who wants to increase the benefit for their commercial channel or newspaper. People who want to trust these kinds of news would be disappointed after a while, because although those news are attractive, they are not true in most parts. For example, two different news’s resources can report different news by the same topic. This happened couple of years ago in my home country, Iran. I was reading one of those fake news and I started to yell after seconds, because I read an earthquake is coming for Tehran. Indeed, there is a possibility for earthquake in Tehran, but they wrote that it is happening now and they mentioned some signs for that phenomenal. After that I decided to just read some valid news instead of reading some random newspaper.

Second of all, reading a same resource will help people to avoid of getting confused. Some adults prefer to read many news in many sources. After a while, they are confused by many contrasts. They do not know which one is the right one, so they cannot decide for their future, For instance, imagine a person, who wants to buy a house in the close future. When he read a news about an increase in interest rate, he/she would be freak. Undoubtedly, there are other resources, which predict a low interest rate for the future, so that person cannot decide between these much varieties.

Last but not least, people can focus on subject instead of focusing on resource. Psychologically, people are trying to find the best answer to their questions, so they try to find out which news is true and which one is not. In this case, they will lose their focus, because they cannot just read the topic and search a little bit. They also need to recognize a real news. Therefore, finding a valid source would be the best idea in this situation, because after one time, each person can trust them and be comfortable with their news. As an illustration, data analysts in Irvine University started to demonstrate some cause of do not having focus during reading or listening to a news and surprisingly, they found out that the most effective way to increase the focus in this situation is increasing trust.

To sum up, each person have some preferences in choosing a resource for his/her information, but the best way to increase the efficiency is getting data from a popular and valid source of news.