TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Successful people usually take unique paths in their life, different from those of ordinary people. I agree with the statement that successful people try new things and take risks. I have many reasons for my stance which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, some people prefer to climb the ladder of success step by step, while others have unusual methods of handling things. They are often more adventurous and not afraid to make some calculated risks. For example, look at the great inventors throughout the history, you will find that they always had the guts to go against what is common or prevalent int their times. A vivid example of smart and courageous persons is Isaac Newton, who followed unprecedented techniques that led to the theory of gravity.

In addition, the success is always associated with taking risks. If someone has followed the traditional methods because he is not willing to take risky or unknown track, he will reach to traditional outcome, not something impressing like those who are self-confident to cross the boundary of unknown. Another impressive example from the history is the famous traveler Christopher Coulombs who discovered the new world or the new continent of America. If such a man did not have the curiosity and the spirit of adventure, he would not even think of making such a dangerous journey.

Admittedly, some could argue that those who take risks and try new things are liable to failure because they follow unknown methods. However, I believe that without those people who decided to go beyond the limits, our world would not have such discoveries and inventions in all fields of life, so I think those people who like to follow their passion and try unfamiliar ways in their lives have more chances for success.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that individuals who have the tendency to take risks and try new things have better chances for success. .