TPO-21 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

Nowadays, the competition for a good job is becoming more fiercer. Some people believe that it is more important to develop a better relationship with many people than studying hard at school. Admittedly, having a good social circle will bring you good fortune and can easily get help from other people when searching for a job. However, in my point of view, studying hard in school would definitely bring more benefits in the long run. It will equip us with good knowledge and new ideas.

To begin with, studying hard has a lot of benefits to you. By studying hard, your knowledge scope becomes much wider than others and even an expert in a field. Thus you are able to do works beyond other’s capability. In other words, studying hard is a way to enhance your capability. Also, studying hard contributes directly to success. Luxun, a famous Chinese litterateur, was once asked his secret of success. He answered "I was just studying while others were drinking coffee." Further, people always say “Chance favors only the prepared mind.” Most chances come once a lifetime. Studying hard is a good preparation for a coming chance. Also, your ability to learn new knowledge can be improved through studying. No one could deny the fact that the more you use your brain, the agiler your brain is. In nowadays society, knowledge updates fast. It is necessary to learn the latest knowledge as soon as possible. You can be more competitive when you master them before others do. Therefore, you are more likely to get success in your future job. A survey released recently by China Daily shows that 78.6% of 34000 employers prefer employees with strong abilities' of learning new things.

Secondly, although, the relationships among people do well for your success, they fail to take into account that an ignorant person will never get promoted. No one would like to introduce an incapable person to others, which also does no good for introduced himself. Take one of my classmates; Tom, for example, whose father is a CEO at a big company. He knows nothing about his father's company, and he is unwilling to learn knowledge. However, his father introduced Tom to that company, and he got a job. Since Tom is lacking in both learning and practical ability, he never gets promoted, let alone success. The relationship can only be an extra help for your success. It's a kind of chance in some degree, only prepared people can grasp it.

Finally, studying hard could yield more creative ideas which are important for future success. Apparently, the more efforts you paid, the better outcome you will get. One example immediately comes to my mind is the wealthiest man in the world--Bill Gates who is the former CEO of Microsoft company. It is well known to us that he spends most of his time in programming in school. After he dropped out of Harvard, he decided to start his own business. With the knowledge he has learned in school, he invented the Windows and other revolutionary products. Within years of efforts, the company finally becomes one of the most valuable companies in the world. It is no wonder that innovation often comes from hard study and plays an important role in business success.

From what has been discussed above, we may safely draw the conclusion that studying hard is a necessary step to your success, while the relationship is only a good chance to get promoted.