TPO-23 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.Use specific reasons an

In this competitive world market, efficiency is always regarded as the most crucial factor to survive among numerous companies. But it is quite a controversial topic when we ask people what efficiency means. Some people insist that efficiency is speed, while others argue that it means accuracy. From my standpoint, I think we should better work slowly to make sure that everything is correct. The reasons are as following.

Firstly, when you do the job very quickly, you are more possible to make mistakes as well. There are many vivid cases that testify that we may spend much more time to resolve the mistake. The only result is that we will fail to finish the work on time. However, if we do the work prudently, we spend less time to inspect the whole work, which means more efficient. For instance, when I was a student in my high school, we often had math exams. My tactic was to check my calculation after every step and then begin to answer the next question. Although it cost me more time answering the same question than other students, I avoided most silly mistakes. I even had some extra time to figure out the additional question because I did not need to review my answers. When I saw some students being so upset about their calculation errors, I knew I had the right tactic.

Moreover, most bosses appreciate employees who are steady. When your boss gives you a task, he/she often tells you the deadline as well. It is apparent that the boss only wants the best result; however, he/she barely cares how you do the work. Therefore, we do not need to finish our work as quickly as possible. What we should do is to hand in the best result. Thus it is more efficient to guarantee the accuracy. When I did my internship in a financial leasing company, my boss told me on the very first day that she could not endure any mistake. In other words, it was not her responsibility to revise my work. Consequently, I did my work extremely carefully. I even checked the pages when I printed some documents to affirm that no page is missed. On the last day of my internship, she told me that she trusted my work due to the constant high quality and I should keep this advantage in my future career.

Last but not the least, we will get more opportunities to cooperate with our colleagues if we make few mistake. A good cooperation is based on trust. If we always make some mistakes, then no one is willing to bear the risk with us. For instance, once I conducted an experiment with my friend. I was surprised that he finished his part of job two days before the deadline which made me unconfident of my capacity at one time. However, when I read his report, I was totally disappointed in him as he had ignored many important factors. He left me a bad impression that he was merely a free-rider. Since then, I never cooperate with him.

In conclusion, we should sacrifice time to increase the accuracy as it is a positive recycle. When we make fewer mistakes, we will be more confident of our work, which in turn leads to a faster speed. And that is what means efficiency。